Queensland election 2015: Labor wins 44 seats to form minority government


All seats in the Queensland election have been declared, with Labor securing enough to form a minority government.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland (ECQ) declared the 89 seats which make up Queensland Parliament at 2:15pm (AEST).

Labor won 44 electorates and will have the crucial 45 to form a minority government with the support of independent Peter Wellington.

Labor leader Annastacia Palaszczuk could be sworn in as Queensland’s premier as early as today.

Although the writs were due to be returned on Monday, Governor Paul de Jersey said earlier this week he would commission a new premier when all seats were declared.

The Liberal National Party (LNP) finished with 42 seats,