Changes to Department of Immigration & Citizenship under Liberal Government


The Liberal Government headed under new PM Tony Abbott has announced changes to the Government machinery and one of the biggest change is the name change of Department of Immigration & Citizenship to [highlight]Department of Immigration & Border Protection[/highlight].

So far the fundamental changes to the Administrative Arrangements Orders for Department of Immigration & Border Protection, outlined by Mr Abbott, look like this:

  • Responsibility for customs and border control policy will move from the Attorney‑General’s portfolio to the Department of Immigration and Border Protection to ensure stronger integration of border protection resources.
  • The Customs and Border Protection Service will also now report to the Minister for Immigration and Border Protection.
  • Settlement services for migrants and humanitarian entrants will be moved from the immigration department to the Department of Social Services. This is a sensible reform that will deliver synergies with broader community services delivery.

Further, the new Prime Minister Tony Abbott has announced that Permanent Protection Visas will immediately be ceased, and that there will be a return to Temporary Protection Visas for people who arrive unauthorised by boat and are successful in making a refugee application.


Source: DIAC Facebook Page